25 years ago…

…on this day Ayrton Senna won his first Formula 1 Grand Prix in Estoril.

HU: 25 évvel ezelőtt ezen a napon, 1985. április 21-én Ayrton Senna megnyerte első forma-1-es nagydíját a portugáliai Estorilban.

The big danger was that the conditions changed all the time. Sometimes the rain was very heavy, sometimes not.

I couldn’t see anything behind me. It was difficult even to keep the car in a straight line sometimes, and for sure the race should have been stopped.

Once I nearly spun in front of the pits, like Prost, and I was lucky to stay on the road. People think I made no mistakes but that’s not true – I’ve no idea how many times I went off! Once I had all four wheels on the grass, totally out of control, but the car came back onto the circuit.

People later said that my win in the wet at Donington in ‘93 was my greatest performance. No way! I had traction control OK, I didn’t make any real mistakes, but the car was so much easier to drive. It was a good win, sure, but compared with Estoril ‘85 it was nothing, really. – Ayrton Senna

Leave a Reply

